About NetMath


The University of Illinois Department of Mathematics has long been a national leader in distance education through its NetMath program. Following the retirement of its founding director Debra Woods in 2012, NetMath is now led by Faculty Director Professor Randy McCarthy and Associate Directors Bruce Carpenter and Anu Murphy.

Professional Staff

Anu Murphy assumed overall responsibility for managing day-to-day operations of NetMath in 2012. Bruce Carpenter, who joined the department in 1997, supervises the instruction of NetMath’s core courses and contributes to the development of its innovative curriculum. The NetMath professional staff also includes: Roger Burt, Instructional Support Specialist; Jason Elliot, Tayyab Nawaz, and Hannah Spinoza, Lecturers of Mathematics; Kerry Butson, Assistant eLearning Specialist; Dave Watson, eLearning Information Technology Specialist; Faisal Whelpley, Associate Director of Instructional Technology; Aaron Wittrig, Assistant Director of Instructional Technology; Jennifer Nygard, Academic Media Specialist; Theresa Tucker, Office Manager; and Paul Kramer, Office Support Associate.

To view our staff directory, please visit here

Teaching Assistants, Mentors, and Academic Hourlies

Currently NetMath employs several graduate teaching assistants, 15-20 undergraduate mentors, and several Academic Hourlies who work with individual students.

When Debra Woods and Jerry Uhl started NetMath in 1996, it had only a few dozen students. Today, thousands of students around the world are able to take University of Illinois math courses through the NetMath program.