The University of Illinois Department of Mathematics has long been a national leader in distance education through its NetMath™ program. Following the retirement of NetMath™’s founding director Debra Woods in 2012, NetMath™ is now led by Program Director Professor Randy McCarthy and Associate Directors Anu Murphy, Bruce Carpenter and Faisal Whelpley.

Professional Staff

Anu Murphy assumed overall responsibility for managing day-to-day operations of NetMath™. Her experience with NetMath™ since 2008 has been invaluable in maintaining its momentum. Bruce Carpenter, who joined the department in 1997, supervises the instruction of NetMath™’s core courses and contributes to the development of this innovative curriculum. The NetMath™ professional staff also includes: Zac Schoenrock, Instructional and Advising Specialist, Jin Hyung To, Instructional Specialist, Kerry Butson, Assistant eLearning Specialist, Faisal Whelpley, Associate Director of Instructional Technology, Dave Watson, eLearning Information Technology Specialist, Andrew Nygard, Visiting Academic Media Specialist, and Amber Holmes, Visiting Student Services Coordinator.

To contact our staff, please visit here

Teaching Assistants, Mentors, and Academic Hourlies

Currently NetMath™ employs several graduate teaching assistants, 15-20 undergraduate mentors, and several Academic Hourlies who work with individual students.

When Debra Woods and Jerry Uhl started NetMath™ in 1996, it had only a few dozen students. Today, thousands of students around the world are able to take University of Illinois math courses through the NetMath™ program.

Last updated: Tue, 09/12/2017 - 10:42